Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Election Recommendations From Colorado Education Association Announced

Posted on: October 9, 2023
Posted By: CEA Communications
Posted in: Press

CEA logo

Sydney Slifka
(720) 512-7790

October 9, 2023

Election Recommendations From Colorado Education Association Announced
Colorado’s largest union amplifies pro-public education school board candidates

DENVER – Colorado’s largest union, the Colorado Education Association (CEA), announced on behalf of its 39,000 members that it will support 2023 school board election candidates and state and local ballot measures that prioritize the investment, respect, and safety of our public schools.

School boards have enormous power in our schools. Board members establish the vision for the district, supervise the superintendent, set policy that has the force of law, control tax dollars, and approve curriculum.  Their decisions and directives impact every student and educator in the district’s schools. Who we vote for is a reflection of what we want to see for our students, educators, schools, and communities. Colorado’s education professionals remain united and more determined than ever to elect pro-public school board members this November who strengthen our public schools – rather than tear them down – to ensure our students learn the skills they need to be successful in their careers, college, and lives.

“The 39,000 members of the Colorado Education Association are focused on ensuring the election of pro-public education school board candidates who are committed to the success of students and educators,” said Amie Baca-Oehlert, high school counselor and president of the CEA. “Our public schools, students, and educators deserve school board members who prioritize students and educators over politics, so that all students – no matter their skin color or zip code – get an exceptional education.” 

The CEA has also endorsed Proposition HH. “We are proud to be supporting Prop HH, which will provide much needed property tax relief for Coloradans, while raising billions for public education over the next 10 years,” said Baca-Oehlert. “This critical funding for public education allows us to invest more in our kids, reversing decades of disinvestment and underfunding. We’ll finally be able to focus more on recruiting and retaining and attracting the best and brightest educators and investing in art, music, physical education, and mental health to support student learning – all while saving working families billions on property taxes.”

The CEA looks forward to engaging with thousands of voters in the coming month to stress the importance of the School Board elections, local initiatives and Proposition HH. The future of public education depends on the results. 

CEA Recommended Candidates and Ballot Initiatives for the 2023 Election:

Academy School Board
Heather Cloninger
Will Temby

Adams 12 School Board
Paula Battistelli
Lori Goldstein
Alexis Marsh-Holschen

Adams 27J School Board
District 1: Tom Green
District 3: Melinda Carbajal
District 7: Rachel Wilhelm

Aspen School Board
Cassie Harrelson

Aurora School Board
Vicki Reinhard
Tiffany Tasker
Danielle Tomwing

Boulder Valley School Board
District A: Neil Fishman and Jason Unger 
District C: Alex Medler
District D: Lalenia Quinlan Aweida
District G: Jorge Chavez

Buena Vista School Board
At-Large: Mallory Brooks and Paula Dylan
District 1: Casey Martin

Canon City School Board
Bret Meuli
Robin Reeser
Janelle Valladares

Cherry Creek School Board
District A: Anne Egan
District B: Ruthie Knowles
District C: Angela Garland

Colorado Springs School Board
Darleen Daniels
Shay Dabney
Rachel Paul
Kate Singh

Denver School Board
At-Large: Kwame Spearman
District 1: Scott Balderman
District 5: Charmaine Lindsay

Eagle County School Board
District A: Kelly Alter
District C: Harry McQueeney
District D: Lucia Tvarkunas
District E: Juan Pena

Elizabeth School Board
Roxanne Aviles

Estes Park School Board
Brad Shochat
Brenda Wyss

Greeley-Evans School Board
Doran Azar
iBrenda Campos-Spitze
Natalie Mash

Gunnison Watershed School Board
Anne Brookhart
Jody Coleman
Mark VanderVeer

Littleton School Board
Cherie Garcia-Kuper
Lindley  McCrary
Michelle Redfearn

Jefferson County School Board
District 3: Michelle Applegate
District 4: Erin Kentworthy

Mesa Valley School Board
District A: Jose Luis Chavez
District B: Cindy Enos-Martinez

Moffat County School Board
District B: Meghan Francone
District C: Steve Martinson
District D: Paula Belcher

Poudre School Board
District B: Kevin Havelda
District F: Conor Duffy
District G: Jessica Zamora

Pueblo 60 School Board
Tommy Farrell
Anthony Perko
Sol Sandoval Tafoya
Bill Thiebaut

Roaring Fork School Board
Elizabeth After
Lindsay DeFrates

Summit County School Board
Vanessa Agee
Consuelo Redhorse
Julie Shapiro
Gayle Westerberg

Thompson School Board
District A: Dawn Kirk
District C: Briah Freeman
District D: Denise Chapman
District G: Stu Boyd

Westminster School Board
Christine Martinez
Mary Beth Murphy
Audrey Yanos

Widefield School Board
Kelly Cutcher
Alvin Sexton
Mark Walker

Statewide Ballot Measures
Proposition HH – YES

Local Ballot Measures (all Yes)
Archuleta County Mill-Ballot Issue 5A
Canon City-Question 4A Bond measure
Eagle County Mill-Question 5A
Eagle County Bond-Question 5B
Englewood Mill
Falcon Mill
Weld E8 School District (Ft. Lupton) Mill & Bond


About the Colorado Education Association
The Colorado Education Association is the voice of 39,000 educators, working together in a strong union to ensure all students get the exceptional public schools they deserve, in every neighborhood across the state. As Colorado’s largest labor union, CEA works collectively with all education stakeholders to ensure Colorado’s standing as an excellent state in which to learn, live, work, and raise a family.

Follow CEA on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

Related Posts

Colorado Education Association Announces Recommendations for 2024 Primary Elections

The Colorado Education Association (CEA) today released its recommended candidates for the 2024 primary elections.

NEA Member Benefits – May 2024

NEA Member Benefits sources for May 2024.

Jeffco school district bus drivers, cafeteria workers and classroom aides rally over school staffing and safety

Colorado Public Radio: Jeffco school district bus drivers, cafeteria workers and classroom aides rally over school staffing and safety.